Reblog: “Why the rush?”

My favorite quote from this post is, “If your child is 2, 3, 4, 5… even 6, 7, or 8 and they can’t read, read to them.”

The joy of the story is what’s most important — not when children learn to read.  Fun, joy, and play are so important in children’s lives!

learninglifejoy

I have been coming across a lot of questions from parents about what classes their children should take, what curriculum they should buy, what phonics, math, science lessons they should begin because they are worried they are behind. They are worried they are not learning what they need to learn. I often think they are talking about their 10, 11, 12 year old but no…they are 3, 4 or 5. Even as young as 2! Comments like “My 2 year old is so smart, he can count to 20! He knows most of his A, B, C’s.” Or “My 4 year old can’t read, what should I do?”

Am I really that radical that I think “What the heck?” Well maybe in my mind heck is replaced by more colorful language but you get the idea.

Why the rush?

I get the privilege of working with kids and families of all…

View original post 258 more words

